Welcome to the world of Ask Mormon Girl!

Greetings!  Stopping by after listening to All Things Considered today?  So glad you did.  This is Ask Mormon Girl, a question-and-answer column I write for folks (non-Mormons and Mormons alike)  from my own *personal* *unorthodox* *not-official* *flawed* and *human* point of view.  This site has also grown a wonderful community of commenters who often give better answers than I do.  I thank them all for their kindness and wisdom.

If you’d like to stay in touch and get news about the January release of The Book of Mormon Girl: Stories from an American Faith on Audible.com and iTunes, please be sure to follow @askmormongirl on Twitter, or send a “howdy” to askmormongirl@gmail.com.  I’ll be sure to message you when the audiobook is out.

Here are links to two recent columns that will give you a feel for what we do here.

A few weeks ago, a non-LDS AMG reader asked “What do Mormons believe about African-Americans?”  My answer is here.

And this column gets lots of questions from folks inside the faith who are experiencing a faith transition–a change in the way they are thinking or feeling about their relationship to Mormonism.  Many Mormons experience a time when they need to step away from the faith and evaluate their beliefs.  And many of us come back.  Here’s a question from an LDS reader:  “After seven years away from Mormonism, I’m hungry to come back.  But how?

For writing on Mormonism and politics, please visit my column at Religion Dispatches. The Ask Mormon Girl column also runs every other Monday at the legendary Feminist Mormon Housewives.  I am very proud to be a part of the FMH community.  Mormonism is our home, and places like FMH and AMG strive to make it a place welcoming of honest exploration, kindness, humor, and humanity.

Thanks for stopping by. Please come back soon.

7 Comments

Filed under social connectedness

7 responses to “Welcome to the world of Ask Mormon Girl!

  1. JS

    Curious about your comment regarding Mitt’s all too obvious stiffness in media appearances, interviews, etc. Can you honestly attribute that 100% to his experience of being a bishop? I’d offer that his reluctance to elaborate on his responses comes more from being in positions of power rather than being a religious leader, unless thats a shared trait amongst Mormon bishops. Either way, it projects arrogance rather than leadership. Many folks are tired of this look down upon others attitude, especially when it comes from those with more money and power than those of us who arent in that position; remember according to some “its our own fault”.

    • Josh

      I had quite a similar reaction. I have had bishops who were a bit stiff by personality, as well as bishops that were very open and responsive. I would hesitate to say that there is a “Mormon leadership style” (or the like) or that is what causes his stiffness.

      I worry that your comment about attributing his stiffness to his Mormon leadership experience only feeds misconceptions and anti-Mormon biases. The lingering thought in people’s minds is probably, “Wow, those Mormons are rigid and expect unquestioned obedience.” This is so far from my experience in my 40 years in the church!

      I have known some individuals (some leaders, some not) who were hyper-conservative or judgmental, but these are both the exception and represent divergence from the underlying principles of the gospel and church leadership. Church leaders at the all levels actively try to help people overcome this sort of stance, which can be a problem in many places.

      On the other hand, the principles of church leadership require certain individuals to make decisions and enact what they feel is the best course of action, and those same principles imply that others are in the role of following and upholding the vision of their leaders. But this is true in every type of organization. This reminds me of a time that I sat on a university committee presided over by our department chair, and I felt inspired by her vision and tried to do my part to make that vision a reality. Equally, I have sat in Priesthood and Ward councils and other training meetings in which I felt inspired by the vision of a loving and inspired leader. This has been the general rule, and I’m sorry for anyone who has had some other experience in the church.

  2. Listened to your very articulate NPR responses. You under-rate yourself… that was as close to perfect and UN-flawed as I could imagine. Thanx for being who you are.
    LDSScientist.blogspot.com

  3. Yep, found you via NPR. I’m also following you on Twitter now. I look forward to learning! :)

  4. Hello Joanna Brooks.

    Yes, I am one of those who heard you on NPR this afternoon. I am a little stunned to see that no comments have appeared here so far today, but I am certain they will. Perhaps they already have, by the score, even hundreds and are sitting in the queue waiting for approval.

    I keep a blog too, and once in awhile I touch upon the Mormonism that I grew up with, served a mission for, married in a temple of, began my own family in but no longer follow nor practice, yet I seek not to be bitter as so many in my position are and I also want to understand and come to terms with the contradictory forces and tragedies that I have faced due to my Mormon upbringing.

    If you visit my blog, there is a Mormon tab at the side, with some 27 entries, but sometimes the Mormon reference is buried deep inside other material, so I don’t know if it is a very helpful link.

    Next week, however, I do plan to do a blog series that will get into my Mormon experience, perhaps in ways that I will not know until my pictures go up and my fingers start tapping the keyboard.

    Maybe you can drop by and take a look. I assume my blog address will be linked to my name on this comment, so you have it. I will let you know when the series begins.

    Thank you.

  5. Ed Flaga

    Listened to you on Krista Tippett’s On Being podcast today. Great show! I work closely with a LDS member and we have always had respectful and informative faith discussions. As a practicing Catholic I have noticed the similarities that our faiths share in family, marriage & the sanctity of life. I, like you, have also struggled with the more conservative factions of my faith. At the end of the day I though I remain a Catholic. It is hard to leave the place you first begin your relationship with God. Good luck and God bless.

  6. Christi

    “It is hard to leave the place you first begin your relationship with God.” There is such gratitude! Above all may we be followers of Christ.

Leave a Reply

