Book of Mormon Girl: childhood comfort food recipe contest winner!

Greetings, all, and congratulations to the winner of The Book of Mormon Girl childhood comfort food recipe contest:  Ellen C., of Portland, and author of the blog Flushed Face.

Ellen shared her mom’s recipe for burger bean cups, which has all the key components of an affordable Mormon family dinner–cream of mushroom soup? check. Canned green beans? check. Ground beef? check.  Dinnertime started at our house every night with the block of ground beef leaving the freezer and going into the microwave.  Good times!

Here’s the recipe:

One of my Mom’s classic dinners as we were growing up was “Burger Bean Cups”.  I have no idea where she got this recipe, or if it was something that other families ate, but I always loved them.  In fact, I still do.  They are little cups of comfort to me, and oh so retro.  There is nothing fancy about these, except maybe the fact that you use “french cut” green beans (ooh la la).  In fact, they’re kind of ugly. But the creamy filling paired with the hearty hamburger is straight out of my childhood.  After a freezing afternoon of snow sledding at “the dirt hills”, these were just the thing to warm us up.  Mom always served them right out of a muffin tin, the perfect serving size for a kid.  
 
I hadn’t had these in for-eh-vah… but I convinced Paul to let me make them one night last month.  They turned out perfect… just like Mom used to make.

Burger Bean Cups
1 lb ground beef
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1/2 cup dried bread crumbs
1/4 cup chopped onions
1 egg
1/2 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
1 can french cut green beans

Mix 1/4 cup of the cream of mushroom soup together with the ground beef, bread crumbs, chopped onions, egg, salt, and pepper.  Drop mounds of the beef mixture into a muffin tin, hollowing out the middle to form little nests.  Combine the rest of the soup and the green beans.  Spoon the bean mixture into the middle of each nest. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 mins.

Please check out her sweet blog here, including recent pictures of a family trip to the coast–with crabbing–which left me plain jealous.

Ellen and other contest runners-up will received signed copies of The Book of Mormon Girl.

Thanks, Ellen!

3 Comments

Filed under social connectedness

3 responses to “Book of Mormon Girl: childhood comfort food recipe contest winner!

  1. Yay! Thanks, Joanna! Can’t wait for my copy of your book!

  2. Margo

    Just popped mine in the oven. Topped with french fried onions because I’m all liberal and stuff

  3. I love this recipe, I grew up on this kind of food! My kids would never eat it, :( I might try doing it just for me.

Leave a Reply

